Executive Council

  • Home
  • Executive Council

Mr. K. Balarama Reddi


Mr. Reddi is a Former Chairman of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh State Electricity Board and has over 40 years of experience in the Indian power sector. He joined the Electricity Department in 1953 and worked in various capacities in the then Andhra Pradesh State Electricity Board (APSEB) and Central Electricity Authority (CEA).

He was the Chairman of the APSEB for three years (1992-1995) and a member of the Board for four years (1988-92). He played a key role in all aspects of power systems’ development/ utility management. Mr.Reddi was instrumental in negotiations with IPPs for setting up of private sector power projects in the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh. He was also a member of the high level committee appointed by the Government of Andhra Pradesh to recommend policies and modalities for regulating and restructuring of the power sector in the State.

Mr.Reddi, who holds a Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from Madras University (1952), has been a Fellow Member of the Institution of Engineers (India). He has won many awards for his outstanding contribution to power systems development.

Mr. C.V.J Varma


Mr. Varma is a graduate in Engineering. He has more than 30 years of experience in the field of hydropower development in India. He was involved in the construction of the Tungabhadra dam and hydroelectric plant. Subsequently, he was involved in the design of hydro projects, such as Lower Sileru, Srisailam and others. He joined with Prof. Ven T. Chow, Prof. Gabor Karadi and Prof. Masony in the formation of International Water Resources Association and held office of Secretary General. In 1997, he became First Governor of the World Water Council’s Board of Governors. From 2000 to 2003, Mr. Varma served as President of the International Commission on Large Dams (the first Indian, and Asian, to have held this post). From 2004 to 2006, he was President of the Association of the Electricity Supply Industry of East Asia and the Western Pacific (AESIEAP), and is the only Indian to have been elected to this post. He hosted the CEPSI 2006 in Mumbai, attended by more than 1000 delegates from 23 countries, and additionally 350 delegates from India. This included more than 300 CEOs. Currently he is President of Council of Power Utilities, Hon. President International Commission On Large Dams (Paris) and Hon. Member, CIGRE (Paris).

Ms. Tanushree Sharma

Managing Director

Ms. Sharma is a graduate in Business Administration with a specialization in Banking & Insurance. She is the youngest Secretary General of the Association of the Electricity Supply Industry of East Asia and Western Pacific and will be the 2nd woman to have attained this position in the history of 40 years of the Association. Ms. Sharma has experiences of addressing several international level conferences in India and aboard and is an Ambassador of the Indian Power Sector. She has many papers published to her name in leading International Journals. Ms. Sharma is also the Associate Editor of the India Power Journal, India’s premier power sector Journal.